Medtech Design Summit 2021

Design Inspiration for Your Next Medical Innovation

Register to attend this free webinar series live or on-demand

Thursday, May 13, 2021 | 12:30 p.m. EDT/9:30 a.m. PDT – 5:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. PDT

Learn best practices in medtech design and hear the winners of the 2021 Medical Design Excellence Awards announced in this free webinar series May 13.

Innovative design is often the differentiator between a good medical device and one that's truly great. In this webinar series, we’ll provide tips and best practices to help take your device design to the next level—from teasing out user needs to adding features that make complex healthcare tasks faster, easier, and less costly. We’ll also celebrate the finalists and announce the winners of the 2021 Medical Design Excellence Awards, the premier awards program recognizing achievements in medical product design and engineering that improve the quality of healthcare delivery and accessibility.

Identifying Unmet Needs in Healthcare
Panel Discussion
11:30 a.m. – 12:25 p.m. EDT/
8:30 a.m. – 9:25 a.m. PDT

Unmet needs abound in healthcare, but sniffing them out can be tricky. In this session, Medical Design Excellence Awards finalists explain how they identified the need for their product and how they went about designing a solution to meet it.

Panelists:

  • Robby Booth, Founder & Senior Vice President of Research & Development, Glytec
  • Carla Leibowitz, Chief Business Development Officer, Paige
  • Chen Levin, CEO, XACT Robotics
  • Larry Shaw, President, Knightsbridge Sleep Solutions

MDEA Winner Announcements + Tech Talks
12:30 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. EDT/
9:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. PDT

MDEA winner announcements in the following categories:

  • Cardiovascular devices
  • Digital Health Products & Mobile Medical Apps
  • Drug-Delivery & Combination Products
  • ER & OR Tools, Equipment & Supplies
  • Gastrointestinal & Genitourinary Devices

Plus:
Get up to speed on the products and services you need to bring the next breakthrough medtech innovation to life. Trusted suppliers and service providers catering to the medical device and diagnostics industry will take the virtual stage to present their latest technology and products.

Designing an Elegantly Simple Medtech Solution
Panel Discussion
1:50 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. EDT/
10:50 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. PDT

Healthcare is an incredibly complex industry, so patients, providers, and other stakeholders are always looking for any opportunity to make things simpler. In this session, you’ll hear how Medical Design Excellence Awards finalists sought to streamline, simplify, and strip down their devices to make users’ lives easier.

Panelists:

  • Matt Bettman, Design Studio Lead, Delve Inc. 
  • John Maughan, Head of Products, S3 Connected Health
  • Anthony Abbate, R&D Engineering and Design Advisor, Intersect ENT
  • Julie Brewer, President, Cardiovascular Diagnostics & Services Operating Unit, Medtronic

MDEA Winner Announcements + Tech Talks
2:50 p.m. – 4:05 p.m. EDT/
11:50 a.m. – 1:05 p.m. PDT

MDEA winner announcements in the following categories:

  • Implant & Tissue-Replacement Products
  • Nonsurgical Hospital Supplies & Equipment
  • Over-the-Counter & Self-Care Devices
  • Radiological, Imaging & Electromechanical Devices
  • Rehabilitation & Assistive-Technology Products
  • Testing & Diagnostic Products & Systems

Plus:
Get up to speed on the products and services you need to bring the next breakthrough medtech innovation to life. Trusted suppliers and service providers catering to the medical device and diagnostics industry will take the virtual stage to present their latest technology and products.

Readers' Choice & Best-in-Show Announcements + Secrets of Award-Winning Medical Device Design Panel Discussion
4:10 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. EDT/
1:10 p.m. PDT – 2:30 p.m. PDT

What does it take for a medical device to rise above the competition? In this session, jurors from the 2021 Medical Design Excellence Awards program share insights about what technologies, features, and functional design elements caught their eye and separated the winners from the rest of the pack in this year’s competition.

Panelists:

  • Jennifer McCaney, PhD, Executive Director, UCLA Biodesign
  • Mary Kay Smith, Director, Michigan State University Learning and Assessment Center
  • Mark Wehde, Chair, Mayo Clinic Division of Engineering